Azkals compete in AFF U23 Championship

Originally published by SunStar Cebu

THE Philippines Men’s Under-23 Football Team is competing against its Southeast Asian neighbors in the AFF U23 Championship 2022 from Feb. 14 to Feb. 26 in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

The Philippines is in Group A with host Cambodia, Timor-Leste and Brunei Darussalam. The top team from each of the three groups and the best second-placer advance to the semifinals.

The Philippines takes on Timor-Leste in its first assignment on Feb. 14, 2022 at the Morodok Techo National Stadium. The Azkals then locks horns with Cambodia on Feb. 17, still at the Morodok Techo National Stadium before facing Brunei Darussalam on Feb. 20, 2022 at the Prince Stadium.

Oskari Kekkonen (Kaya FC Iloilo), Oliver Bias (Azkals Development Team), Dennis Chung (Azkals Development Team), Sandro Reyes (Kaya FC Iloilo) and Quincy Kammeraad (Azkals Development Team) are the returning players from the Under-23 and the men’s team that competed in the AFC U23 Championship 2022 qualifiers and the AFF Suzuki Cup 2020 in 2021.

Four other players from the Azkals Development Team have been called up to the team—Cebuano striker Ivan Ouano, forward Andres Aldeguer, Matt Ocampo and Pete Forrosuelo.

Other players in the squad are De La Salle University goalkeeper Enrico Mangaoang, Cebuano goalkeeper Jessie Semblante of Mendiola FC and San Beda University, Stallion FC Laguna defender Gyles Encabo, Ateneo de Manila University’s Elijah Liao, Stallion FC Laguna’s Jayvee Kallukaran, defender Miguel Mendoza, Dynamic Herb Cebu FC defender Jaime Rosquillo, Portsmouth FC Academy’s David Setters, United City FC midfielder Pocholo Bugas, Kieran Hayes of United City FC, MacArthur FC’s Jacob Mantini, Badalona CF’s Antione Ortega, Erskine University midfielder Jacob Peña, Nathan Rilloraza, Mendiola FC’s Mariano Suba Jr., Northeastern State University midfielder Scott Woods and Stallion Laguna FC forward Griffin McDaniel.

The team is mentored by head coach Stewart Hall along with assistant coaches Norman Fegidero, John Paul Merida, Ernest Nierras and Noel Marcaida.

0 views0 comments